Nikon D800 D-SLR Camera | High Dynamic Range Camera

[object HTMLTextAreaElement]

via Nikon D800 D-SLR Camera | High Dynamic Range Camera.

The Nikon D800 information has been released, and so far I’m excited. Now, I will not say this is a D3s replacement, no way will it be. But for my sake, I’ve considered it as being my next camera, given the fact that I am shooting with a d40x right now (by choice, d3s was sold to cover month’s worth of bills and to cover a trip to PDNPhotoPlus NYC). I’ve thoroughly used the D3s and appreciate it dearly and wouldn’t mind using that camera again. I’ve tested the D4 at ImagingUSA and have considered it as a valuable resource for me, in many regards, especially with storm chasing. I would be more than willing to test its low light capabilities in field and in studio, as well as while chasing. Anybody want to contribute to my D4 fund?

The d800 is going to be my next camera, regardless of the BS other people have posted on their blogs about newer cameras and whether or not it can improve one’s photography. I’m not going to get into that because I have my reasons for wanting to pick up the d800, as well as why I haven’t gone medium format. And those are: (and in some cases a comparison to my d40x – note i sacrificed alot of what i used to do by selling my d3s, to attend my first PhotoCon)
• larger image (7,360 x 4,912) as a result of 36 mp
• intervelometer – my d40x doesn’t have it
• HD Video – and in 1080/30p and 720/60p – hopefully with full control of ISO / Shutter Speed / Aperture
• Audio Jack output – even if I have a Zoom H4n Recorder.
• Larger (D3s size) viewfinder, because you need to be able to see everything that you are shooting, one reason why medium formats are great.
• FX Sensor – so i can use AND FOCUS my 24-70 f/2.8 and 50mm f/1.8 (i know right?)

36mp = 7,360 x 4,912 (L) = 24.533 width in inches x 16.373 height in inches at 300 pixels/inch. In comparison the D3s was 4256×2832 and print size was 9×14(+-) inches at 300 pixels/ inch from a 12 mp camera.

Okay but why 36 mp and not medium format?
I have a calculator of which I demonstrated pixel size of a DMF camera as compared to a couple of APSC and FX sensors. But basically it has the performance I am used to in a professional Nikon DSLR: fps, high iso, durability blah blah blah… This camera will challenge medium format in it’s affordability and ease of use when using outside of the studio environment. One key factor is the size of each individual pixels and how it compares to those of the DMF in the same or near MP size. It’s pixel size is about 4.8 microns and most DMF cameras are from 4.8 to a little above 6 microns and on a larger sensor. So I would say that if all settings were the same or near on both cameras, and we took an actual size crop of the DMF image to the d800’s image size, there would be possibly little to no difference, one must also consider the processors of both cameras. And the main difference would be the larger image size of the DMF image since it was shot on a larger sensor camera than the D800. But wait, a larger sensor DMF with same or near MP as the D800? Yes and that’s because the DMF may possibly have larger individual pixels (in microns) which could result in better detail resolution if the processor is up to par. In my opinion, cameras like the Pentax 645 and the Leica S2 are at risk because of their similar image resolution, and high price tag and lack of overall use outside of the studio.

I’m cool with the fact that it has both a CF and a SD card, file size is not an issue because I will deal with it appropriately (note I didn’t fuss about it like some people do).

So what am I going to do with it? More model sessions, weddings, engagements, portraits, storm chases w/video and timelapse, large scale panoramics, 4k and up HD motion pictures, and anything else that may tickle my fancy that i’ve already been doing. I’ve done alot with many cameras in various levels in technologies, I embrace new technology and use it, but my knowledge and skills evolve when I find new or creative ways to use what’s available.

Leave a comment